Where Were You?


As promised, more of my older stuff. This one’s an actual song text and not a poem. Even though the difference is not that big.

dear god
this is not a prayer
it’s a call for justice
I’m not begging for mercy before your eyes
I’m just wondering if you could might
take the chains off of me?
I’m torn between the sea
so red, so dark
and the fragments of my heart
spread loosely on the floor

I said I wanted to be damn sure
that you’re the one, the only
you didn’t even listen, did you?
where are you when I need you?

dear god,
this is not prayer
it’s just a question
am I job and you’re testing me?
the book says you’ll guide me
out of the darkest valleys, the shadows
lay me down in the greenest meadows
hold my hands throughout all my troubles
never noticed anything you did,
might as well burn the book

I said I wanted to be damn sure
that you’re the one, the only
you didn’t even listen did you?
where are you now, now that i need you?

I often sit down by the cliffs
that shatter through my being, my self
I stare at the sea that floats so calm
right beneath my feet
the sun seems to drown in the shallow water
painting everything in a deep red, like the blood
that rushes through my veins
reminds me of the life I have

I said I wanted to be damn sure
that you’re the one, the only
you didn’t even listen, did you?
where were you, when I needed you?
Where were you when I was laying naked
on the floor, with the bottle in my hands?
where were you when I cried your name
when I begged you to come down and help me

dear god, this is not a prayer
just a call for justice
just something I want to know
where were you?

As always, any feedback is appreciated.

About Sebastian

I am.
This entry was posted in Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Were You?

  1. what i like about this is the fact that only “i” is spelt with a capital. is there a reason? not even “god” had the honour of that.

    “I said I wanted to be damn sure
    that you’re the one, the only
    you didn’t even listen, did you?”

    this little bit strikes me. it’s nice. maybe a little angry, but there’s something in it. xx

Leave a Reply

