Something Blue.


So, this is the end. Well, not the end of all, just the end of this series. Yeah, I know, lame and obvious joke. Bear with me, pretty please, k thx? Alright, so something blue. What is blue? Right, water! (Yeah, technically it’s not blue, but most of the time it at least seems to be blue) So, and what do I like to write about? Right, the ocean. So, I decided to write a poem about the Ocean. I remembered an old fragment of a song text that I had somewhere, digged it up, and to my surprise, finished it within 20 minutes. It was really easy to write it to an end. Well, whatever, here is your poem:

I see the sun but no
shadow on the shore
I hear the ocean
but not the waves
crashing down on me
cause I’m out in the sea
without an anchor
I’m drifting through the ocean

desperate I look out
for a sign of land
an island, a shore
would be enough
just something i can
lay my head on
while I sleep and dream
I fear to drown out here

I went out to map the ocean
now I’m trapped out here
my ship is leaking
not far from sinking
I went out to map the ocean
what did I think?
Now I’ll drown out here
my body will be washed up on foreign shores

the map I drew seems worthless
nothing more than a piece of paper
when I now look back
I see myself full of energy
I did not fear the danger
nor the storm coming in
black clouds obstructing my view
to the horizon far away

nothing but plain water
in all directions
I wait for the next storm
it will break the nutshell I’m in
then my journey will be over
I wonder if someone else
will find the plans I made
or if they’ll be gone forever

I went out to map the ocean
now I’m trapped out here
my ship is leaking
not far from sinking
I went out to map the ocean
what did I think?
Now I’ll drown out here
my body will be washed up on foreign shores

my effort seems worthless
I failed my duty
I’m not strong enough
to sip the water out
inch for inch
it crawls higher ’til I stand knee-deep
I can see my face
like in a silver plate mirror

I learned something out here
and maybe one day someone
will listen to my story
then someone will remember me
and I’ll live on in memories
maybe one day words will reach you
and you’ll remember me as well
I went out to map the ocean

So that you could follow me
now I’m trapped out here
my ship is leaking
not far from sinking
this might be my last few words
what did I think?
Now I’ll drown out here
my body will be washed up on foreign shores

I went out to map the ocean.

Alright, it’s still more of a song text then an actual poem, but the difference is not that big. I think there won’t be much new over the next few days, because I’ll be kinda busy, meeting some friends, going to shop some musical equipment, and so on. Still, if I write something new, I’ll share it.

Sebastian

About Sebastian

I am.
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

