Six Months On Sea


This one’s a bit older, because I don’t like what I’ve written today. Maybe I like it tomorrow. Who knows… I really hope that I haven’t posted this one yet, but I’m pretty sure that I have not. But, whatever.

I set course into the unknown
into foreign lands, far away
I’ll set sail tomorrow, with nothing
but god and bread on board
I leave the harbour with the tide
riding on the waves that leave the shore
accompanied by some seagulls
peaceful circling over my head

only god knows what lies b’for me
my feet haven’t seen the ground for so long now
six months on sea and still no land in sight
from friendly shores we sailed apart
seeking the unknown future
with a hope for a better life
only god knows what lies b’for me
but he keeps his mouth shut

a flash sets the scene in light
I see my hands for a second
shaking in fear and despair
this storm might be the one that’ll sink me
the sails are close-reefed
the rudder is blocked
with no clear sense I sail
straight into the future

only god knows what lies b’for me
my feet seek for ground
six months on sea still no land in sight
from friendly shores we sailed apart
seeking a better future
with no hope for a better life
only god know what lies b’for me
but he keeps his mouth shut

I barely remember who I am
the sea, the wind, the loneliness
have washed away what’s left of me
I barely remember who I am
can you tell me, show me?
can you remember who I am?
only god knows what lies b’for me
but he keeps his mouth shut
no matter how loud i cry
no matter how hard i beg
he keeps his mouth shut
he keeps his mouth shut

Sebastian

About Sebastian

I am.
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

